Sock update, more mushrooms

A brown coonhound is curled up on a sofa with a pair of sock toes on circular needles draped over her side

The sox continue. I’m more than halfway to the place where I need to start the heel.

One of the sock toes stretched over a cardboard foot outline.  There are about 2” to the mark for starting the heel

The good news is that so far, they fit.

The coonhound looks quizzically at the photographer, while a foot wearing one of the partial sock toes is displayed in front of her.  Her expression is best described as, “are there treats in this, for me??”

Three mushrooms are currently producing:

A “totem” of poplar sections has taupe oyster mushrooms protruding from the areas between the sections
Always reliable Pohu oyster on poplar. This totem has been going since 2018. Pohu is seriously a slam-dunk if you want to try something that fruits prolifically and tastes good.
Three “totems” of cherry sections have olive colored shelf mushrooms poking out from between the sections
The crazy prolific Mukitake on cherry continues. Yesterday I pulled over 700 grams of this variety off. Still more on the way.
Small glossy brown mushrooms peek out from the interstices between sections of a cherry “totem.”
The second Nameko totem of cherry is going.

H finished splitting the hemerocallis and iris, and made nice beds for them. I ordered some early spring bulbs to fill in the cracks and entertain us when the snow melts next spring.

A roughly rectangular patch of muddy-looking soil is surrounded by rounded rocks of all sizes, and has clumps of iris and day lily punctuating the surface.  Strips of scrap lumber delineate various sections.  The whole thing is approximately 3’ by 12’

A metal lawn art pinwheel is visible in the corner of the frame

19 thoughts on “Sock update, more mushrooms”

    1. Haven’t ever had maitake yet )at least not fresh). Let us know how it is! 😀

      This year we grew butternut instead of buttercup. I decided I wanted more moisture because we tend to cook slower at lower temperatures in the wood stove than I did in a standard on-grid oven…

  1. Do you get mushrooms when it’s winter ? Or do you get winter ? Do you ever worry about mushroom overload ? Too much Vit C etc .

    1. We get winter. Sometimes down to -50 F. And we can have snow on the ground continuously from November to April, depending on the year…

      The mushrooms are mostly a fall thing, although some fruit in the spring and summer.

      This time of year we are harvesting everything we can get before everything freezes up… I bake cleaned sliced mushrooms in a covered casserole dish with some salt, pepper, and olive oil for 30 min at 350. Then I cool and freeze in ziploc bags. They can then be fished out anytime for use in soups, casseroles, omelettes, Thanksgiving stuffing, etc. 😋

  2. Anja: LOL! Awwww, your fur baby is soooo patient! LOVE the color of the sox and glad they fit so far!

    That look your fur baby is giving you LOLOLOLOL!

    Oh your mushrooms look wonderful!

      1. I think that look says, “there had better be treats in this for me!” And “What is that crazy human thinking now!?”

  3. Apparently I need to take a course on mushrooms. I’ve never heard of these.

    Your knitting is very nice. Crochet is what I learned from my grandmother. Never mastered knitting.

    The flower bed looks very interesting. Will you post pictures when things start to bloom?

    Thank you for sharing.

    1. To be honest, I had never heard of Mukitake or Nameko before I found them in the catalog. I had heard of oyster mushrooms (and once or twice bought them), but the varieties of oyster are actually quite different from one another, and Pohu is markedly more prolific than the other two we’ve tried!

      I aim to take photos of the spring bulbs 😉

  4. Socks looking good and mushrooms too, they are very prolific and its exciting isn’t it! I have just cut my last green tomatoes off, there weren’t many and they are ripening in my kitchen window (hopefully) as they are talking frost here tonight some places and if frozen they’ll be no good!

    1. Good idea! Yep, those tropical fruits (like tomatoes) really don’t like frost! 🥶

      We keep picking ours, wondering if it will be the last crop. We’re leaving the plants in place until frost gets them because we have no way of knowing when that will happen; since they are cherry tomatoes, if we get another few weeks of warm weather, leaving them up can mean another crop to pick. 😉

      I bake them, sliced, uncovered, in an oven at 300F for 3 hours, with the convection fan on. The roasting and dehydration deepens and concentrates the flavors really nicely. Then we seal them in jars for use the rest of the year.

      Speaking of tomatoes and cold, it kills me when I see people putting fresh tomatoes in a fridge, and then complaining they have no flavor – that is WHY they have no flavor! 🤣

      The converse with apples is also funny. As a temperate fruit, apples keep much better in a fridge; they become soft and mealy at room temperature. But a lot of people leave them out (for decoration? 🤷‍♀️) LOL

      I can always tell if someone knows what they are doing with their food, depending on whether they have apples out on the counter in a bowl and tomatoes in the fridge, or vice-versa. 😉

      1. Some of us put up with those cherry tomatoes not being as tasty , because “we” get negligent in eating them fast enough . LOL Also did you do an old post on how you did those cherry tomatoes in the oven and then Canned them ? If not you should give us a post on that . I love the idea . Take care .

        1. I didn’t do a post about that yet, but I can… I have a couple of batches of baked tomatoes that need to go into glass jars… stay tuned!

          (It just involves baking as described – with some salt and pepper – then transferring to a pot on the stove to bring up to temperature, and sealing into jars, as one would crushed tomatoes.)

Leave a comment